Reviews

The hostel is located in a very central part of the city so all the touristy places are just within reach. Got to stay there in a pretty queit period--beginning of April, in the middle of the week so the hostel seemed like a great contrast to all the partying hostels around Budapest. Very peaceful at night, lots of privacy even in 12 beds dorm--i really liked the idea of beds hidden behind the cutrains, huge spacious lockers. The staff seemed very friendly and helpful as well. There is no wi fi in the rooms and even though it didn't annoy me at all, got a feeling it's not a hostel where you can meet other fellow travellers, because all people do in the common area is just staring at their phones. No complaints at all. Would be nice if the hostel had a kitchen though.

olifantw
April 13, 2016

All was right, beside that there is no kitchen or even Electric Kettle in common area or something. The staff is very helpful and nice, also the localisation is good :)

Anonymous
March 30, 2016

The staff we very lovely and super helpful Location was perfect, walking distance to most of the main things to see in Budapest Security was good and I felt safe leaving my stuff in the room It was a bit annoying there was not wifi in the rooms but this just meant that I had to go downstairs to the bar area to use it, and it was such s fun atmosphere and I met some great people there that it didn't really matter Would recommend

Anonymous
March 27, 2016

For sure it is the best located and value for money of my trip. Near Blaha Lujza station, (Possible to walk form Keleti train station so you can save som money). The price I paid for the room I would never pay anywhere else. it is near a lot of the nicest clubs in Budapest you can do basically everything walking. despite they have a huge club just underneath, the place is literally dead so this place is definitely good for a nice rest ( go hang out at Szimpla Kert 2 blocks way from the hostel)

Anonymous
March 25, 2016

I guess Marco Polo is the perfect place if you want to meet a lot of people without trying and go out partying. Unfortunately, it's not what I was looking for. I did go out partying however, so didn't even sleep there... but you can hardly beat the price. They are lockers. Check out is at 10am, so a bit early i think.

Anonymous
March 19, 2016

Almost perfect, loved the having our own cubicle. Only thing to be improved is having power points by the beds and wifi in each room but can hardly complain for the price!

Anonymous
February 27, 2016

stayed here for three nights during a European trip with friends and we found it to be a really pleasant place to stay.
The Marco Polo is situated in a quiet side street within walking distance of the centre of the bustling city centre, so it's a good base for sightseeing and exploring Budapest. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars (including Budapest's famed Ruin Pubs) in the surrounding area.
Staff were all really friendly and helpful, and it was quick and easy to check in. You have the option to store your bags and luggage in the strongroom near reception if you wish. You can also rent a towel for 10 Euro (which you get back when you return it). Reception is packed with leaflets and information for tourists, sightseers, travellers and revellers, and the staff will help you out if you need directions or advice on things to do.
The four person room we had was basic but clean, with a good sized bathroom and lockable cupboards. Our window faced onto the street, but as it's situated on a fairly quiet road, this wasn't a problem. Although, on the evening we arrived, a movie was being shot in the street outside, so it was a bit noisier than usual.
Breakfast was surprisingly good, with a wide choice of food on offer, including cereals, toast, pastries, tea, juice and fresh ground coffee (available from the machine near the entrance to the dining room). The underground dining/bar area has character and proved to be a pleasant place to eat and chat during our stay. Being a hostel, I imagine it might get rather busy, loud and crowded at certain times of year, so bear that in mind if you're travelling during peak season.

If you're a tourist that's accustomed to plush hotels, then this place probably isn't for you. However, if you're a budget traveller or backpacker looking for reasonably priced, clean, basic accommodation in Budapest, the Marco Polo is a great choice.

Creamtrumpet
February 23, 2016

We were there in January, so hostel was fairly empty. On 4th floor, heat and hot water were fine. The staff was EXCEPTIONAL: friendly and helpful in EVERY way. The location is fine, near Blaha metro stop, can walk to Andrassy St and Opera House etc. Big Spar supermarket close by. Breakfast not included in room price, but the food is generous and reasonable priced (HUF 750 per person).

Biggest complaints: No Wi-Fi in the rooms, only in the Reception and Bar. One bedspread/comforter on each bed, and it's about 1 foot too short and 1 foot too narrow to be comfortable for a 6-foot-tall man.

BillDUSA
January 27, 2016

Traveled with a mixed group of 12 for 3 nights. We could all fit in one long room with 6 bunks - perfect!

Very good value and close to bars and city amenities, we mainly walked but you can get the tram to the city centre/ river areas easily.

Hostel was clean.

A table in the room was broken during one of the party nights and staff fixed next morning with no questions - very good!

If you're looking for a group booking in Budapest, I would recommend this place.

Sean B
December 28, 2015

We paid less than £90 each for our 3 days in Budapest (that included the flights, hostel and breakfast) so we were very unsure what to expect, but must say we were very surprised.

Check in only took about 10 minutes max. We found our room in the hostel but the room was perfect for us and was more of a hotel than hostel.

Room was basic and couldnt work the TV. But who cares, we got a complete bargain!

The hostel didnt appear to have many people staying there - We also went to the bar at 5pm to find we were the only ones there, but it was still fine with just us. The drinks are ridiculously cheap. Work out about £6.50 for 2 double vodka, 2 cans of redbull, double whiskey and lemonade - Bargain!

The second night the bar was meant to be open but they kept it closed, otherwise this place would have got a 5* rating.

Breakfast was toast, buns, cereals, juice & tea etc - Cant complain.

The door of the hostel is also locked at all times to prevents any unwanted guests to the hotel is pretty secure.

Free wifi but appears to only be able to use it in reception or near the bar

The hostel is also central to everything - We would stay here again

Cardiff_UKDave
December 17, 2015